1 Reply Latest reply on Dec 30, 2011 10:10 AM by philmodjunk

GUI Layout Issue - Adding a Static Sidebar

MatteyWatts

Title

GUI Layout Issue - Adding a Static Sidebar

I am currently trying to add a static sidebar to my layout within FileMaker. I am new to FileMaker, so the layout terminology doesn't quite click with me. My GUI will basically have a header, sidebar with categories for quick find, and an active inventory (records from an INVENTORY table) to scroll through. An Add to Cart button will be available next to the active Inventory to add to an invoice and process. I have attached a Photoshopped image of what I would like my layout WITHIN FileMaker to look like. Can anybody give me some advice, steer me in the right direction as to what to do or perhaps a tutorial or book that could help me out. Thanks! 

Inv_Page_reference.jpg

• 1. Re: GUI Layout Issue - Adding a Static Sidebar
          philmodjunk

The only way to do this with a FileMaker layout as far as I know is to use a portal to display your scrolling list of records. This allows you to set up a form view layout where you can put buttons and other layout objects along side your list of records to function as your "static side bar".

the layout terminology doesn't quite click with me.

Portal: Look this one up in FileMaker help. It's a "window" or sub layout that displays data from a multiple related records in another table.