3 Replies Latest reply on May 8, 2009 2:19 PM by KIDO

Having problems

rugger

Title

Having problems

Hi there, hopefully someone can help me with this.  I am very new to Filemaker so bear with me.  I work for a non-profit service organization and have tried to create a donor history tab with 3 categories (fields): "Donation date", "Donation amount", and "Donation for" (aspect of our org).  Where I'm having trouble is through trying to create multiple text boxes for each category, sort of like an excel spread sheet.  When I enter a number in one box, it puts the same number in EVERY box, and I can't seem to change that.  Any thoughts?

bob. 

• 1. Re: Having problems
          DonorTracker

rugger wrote:

Hi there, hopefully someone can help me with this.  I am very new to Filemaker so bear with me.  I work for a non-profit service organization and have tried to create a donor history tab with 3 categories (fields): "Donation date", "Donation amount", and "Donation for" (aspect of our org).  Where I'm having trouble is through trying to create multiple text boxes for each category, sort of like an excel spread sheet.  When I enter a number in one box, it puts the same number in EVERY box, and I can't seem to change that.  Any thoughts?

bob. 

Bob,

I'm having a hard time following what you are describing. Could you come at the description again, perhaps from a different angle?  Thanks!

Are the "Donation for" categories numbers -- or words -- in a pop-up list?

• 2. Re: Having problems
            philmodjunk

"When I enter a number in one box, it puts the same number in EVERY box, and I can't seem to change that"

It sounds like you are creating multiple copies of the same field while in layout mode in order to get a spreadsheet like layout. This, as you've discovered, won't work.

This may help you understand what's going on: