13 Replies Latest reply on Apr 23, 2014 5:52 AM by JamesKnecht

Having Trouble Displaying Data From Portal

JamesKnecht

Title

Having Trouble Displaying Data From Portal

Very, very new to Filemaker pro.  I am rewriting our old software that was written in dBase IV.  So far I have imported my customer file table & my ledger file table & they are related by the account number field.  So far so good except for one issue that I just can't figure out.  I wish to display the balance from the ledger on the customer file.  The current balance is in the last record of the table for that account number.  I have set up a portal displaying the balance field but it is displaying the balance from the first record... not the last.  I assume I need a script so I set one up saying Go To Portal Row [Last}.  I went to Layout Setup & established a trigger for the script OnRecordLoad.  Still get date from the first record of the ledger.

I have never written a script before.

• 1. Re: Having Trouble Displaying Data From Portal
          mgores

You could reverse the sort order on the portal so that it shows the last record first.

• 2. Re: Having Trouble Displaying Data From Portal
            philmodjunk

You don't need a script for this and you may not need a portal for it, but let's stay with the portal for now:

Is there a field in Ledger that increases with each new record added to it? A serial number field or maybe a date or timestamp field?

If so, enter portal setup... and specify that the portal be sorted in descending order on this serial number or other field. Then a single row portal will show data from the very last field.

Note: An account balance can also be a summary field that computes a balance or running balance from all the records for that account. It's possible to get this account balance without needing the portal if you define the correct summary field in ledger to compute that account balance.

• 3. Re: Having Trouble Displaying Data From Portal