12 Replies Latest reply on May 11, 2012 1:51 PM by SW

Having trouble setting A4 page size

SW

Title

Having trouble setting A4 page size

Hi

I'm trying to create a layout that is simple text on a white background, to be printed on a single A4 sheet.  For some reason I can't make the layout size exactly A4, and although I have been able to change the body part background to white (and deleted the header and footer parts) I haven't been able to find how to change the default background colour of the page as a whole (ie the bit of the A4 page that is left after the white printed body part ends).  That extra bit prints as grey, which means I get a fine grey line at the end of the page.

I'm new to FileMaker, but no-one else seems to have this issue.  I must be missing something really obvious?

• 1. Re: Having trouble setting A4 page size
          philmodjunk

how did you change the color to white? Did you click the body part label and then select White as the fill color?

You shouldn't need to size the body to exactly the printable area used by your printer for your paper size and orientation. FileMaker will just leave the unused part of the page blank when you print. If you enter layout mode and select the printer, page size, page orientation in printer setup, you'll see a horizontal line marking the page break if your layout is larger than one page. As long as the layout is at least a small amount smaller than that, you should get what you need here.

• 2. Re: Having trouble setting A4 page size
            SW

Yes - I deleted the header and footer parts and then changed the backgroud of the body part to pure white.  There are no other parts to the layout.

Strangely, when I had a header part as well there was a very fine grey line printed between the body part and the header part, even though the backgrounds of both parts were set as pure white.