2 Replies Latest reply on Jun 16, 2013 5:12 PM by MichaelHolden

Having trouble with relationship linking

MichaelHolden

Title

Having trouble with relationship linking

Hi All,

I'm new to this, so apoligies if this is a dumb question. [I've also had look through forum, but couldn't find a satisfactory answer].

I've created a very basic 3 table FileMaker Advanced database. These databases are:

Customers [contains the fields: Account Code, Name, Address, Phone and Fax]

Products [contains the fields: Product Code, Name, Cost price, Sell Price 1, Sell Price 2]

Sales Orders [contains the fields: Customer Account Code, Order Date, Order Number, Product Code, Order Qty, Unit Cost]

The Sales Order Table doesn't have either the Customer Name or Product Name.

The purpose of this database will be to have an iPadon the road, for delivering goods. The user will access the Sales Order information, get a signature and print/email to client. So that the Sales Order displays the Customer Address [and Name] and also the Product Name, I have had to setup some relationships.

I have set the relationships as follows:

SalesOrder.ProductCode = Products.ProductCode

SalesOrder.CustomerCode = Customers.CustomerCode

All off the 4 linked fields above are stored as Text fields in FMP. When creating a layout which shows the Customer Name and Product Name, these fields display blank.

I have been able to get around the Product Name not displaying on the layout by changing the field type for both SalesOrder.ProductCode and  Products.ProductCode to Number. Preferably I'd like to link these as Text Fields as they could end up being Alpha/Numeric Codes.

The Customer Codes are actually text, so the workaround listed above for Products will not work for Customers. 

Can anyone advise, shed some light on why these links work if these fields are Numeric and wont when Text?