3 Replies Latest reply on Feb 25, 2015 9:14 PM by philmodjunk

Having Trouble with script calculation

RussellCline

Title

Having Trouble with script calculation

I am pretty new at this and must be missing something simple. I am trying to write a script that to keep a running tab and record the totals in another table. The problem I'm having is I have multiple prices for the same item the items depending on the price code per item on the discount per item. In excel or access I would set up a relationship that worked out when script xyz runs in table A column A line 1 multiply that by table B Column A row 1,2,3, etc a coding to the discount code that was selected. with filemaker I get first part of the equation because I'm working that row currently but on the side that selects a row I see how to describe the table Table B and the column A TableB::A but how do i select which record I want I have a Column labeled ID but were would I add that on?

• 1. Re: Having Trouble with script calculation
          philmodjunk

The "alphabet soup" used to label your tables makes your description of what you want to do hard to follow. Real table names are better.

I am trying to write a script that to keep a running tab and record the totals in another table.

A "running tab" of what exactly? Records in a table? Presumably, this would be a running total, but could be set up many different ways depending on what you have to use to compute that total and the results that you want.

And why do you want to record the totals in another table? That is sometimes necessary, but often is not necessary if the only reason is to produce a report by category.

• 2. Re: Having Trouble with script calculation
            RussellCline

so basically this is the situation