3 Replies Latest reply on Jul 6, 2011 9:18 AM by philmodjunk

Help for a newbie - Setting up a simple work order solution

JasonGriffing

Title

Help for a newbie - Setting up a simple work order solution

Hey all, I'm brand new to Filemaker and this my first post on the forum, hoping someone can help me out as I'm a bit stuck.  I run a subcontracting firm doing residential Audio / Visual installs all over the city.  I am attempting to create a simple Work Order solution that will eventually be hosted on FileMaker Server and accessed in the field using iPads and FileMaker Go.  I'm having a lot of fun learning the software (I'm currently using an older version, Filemaker 8), and building this solution is a good way to get my feet wet.

My first question is a conceptual one related to Database design.  In order to implement this solution, I have created the following tables:

- Clients
      - Projects
      - Employees
      - Daily Work Orders
      - Daily Work Order Times

I understand some of the fundamentals when it comes to Database Design, an I know that Many-to-Many relationships are generally a bad thing.  This is why I have created separate "Daily Work Order" and "Daily Work Order Times" tables (hereafter referred to as DWO and DWO_Times respectively).  Spefically, I saw a potential Many-to-Many relationship between DWO's and Employees (i.e. One DWO can have many employees, and one Employee can appear on many DWO's). Hence, I created the DWO_Times table to sit in between them. So the DWO_Times table has a foreign key to the Employees table, as well as a foreign key to the DWO table.

Does this sound to you guys like I am understanding the concept correctly? Just want to make sure I'm on the right track. Assuming I am, it gets to my next question.