14 Replies Latest reply on Aug 12, 2009 7:46 PM by etripoli

Help in calculating box size needed for multiple items

etripoli

Title

Help in calculating box size needed for multiple items

I'm hoping this isn't a unique situation.  I have the need for setting up a database to calculate the number of shipping containers ( boxes ) needed for a given set of items.  The items are identified with weight and dimensions, and the shipping containers come in pre-determined sizes.  Multiple items with different dimensions and weights can, and should be grouped together in one box.  Are there any scripts, formulas, calculations, databases out there that can solve this?

• 1. Re: Help in calculating box size needed for multiple items
          johnmc
             Hi.  I don't if there is a " good " Container stuffer out there.  I am new to FM, and one of my first projects is to write one. I have Container stowing experience.  Perhaps we could chat.  John
          • 2. Re: Help in calculating box size needed for multiple items
            etripoli

Quite an ambitious first project!  But I still think that someone has written a program, or at least has worked on a formula, to figure this problem out.

My first thoughts are, given a limited number of Container/box sizes:

Start with summing the volume of the all the individual items that need to ship together, and eliminate all the boxes that have less volume

- If all the items won't fit in the largest box, the next step is the start

Find the maximum dimension of the largest item, and eliminate any boxes that have dimensions that are smaller

This is where it gets tricky, because you need to work in three dimensions at once, with multiple objects, and each object takes away space from the box, and splits the remaining space up into smaller spaces.

It would seem to need a branching algorithm...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Branch_and_bound

• 3. Re: Help in calculating box size needed for multiple items
              mrvodka