7 Replies Latest reply on Jul 6, 2009 10:14 AM by philmodjunk

Help Needed referencing from external source

JimLewis

Title

Help Needed referencing from external source

Hi, 

I am new to FM Pro and a business owner with a little over 10 employees. I am trying to keep their schedule via time sheets and i cannot seem to be able to reference the employee ID and name to my contacts in "contact manager". this kind of reference is very important to me and it is really imperative that i figure out how to be able to use external sources or DBs for values, drop down menus and as part of calculations. Can anyone advise me on how exactly i use part of the contact manager's information in time sheets?

Regards and thanks in advance,

Jim 

• 1. Re: Help Needed referencing from external source
          philmodjunk

You can use File | Manage | Database | Relationships to add a reference to a filemaker table found in a different file.

Once you've pulled up the relationships graph, click the lower left button to add a new table occurrence and use the data source drop down to select "Add filemaker data source" to find your file and table that you want to add.

That's all you need to be able to set up simple value lists that draw values from the other table. For more sophisticated needs, you'll need to establish relationships that link your newly added table occurrence to your other tables.

• 2. Re: Help Needed referencing from external source
            JimLewis

Hi,