13 Replies Latest reply on Sep 1, 2011 2:05 PM by AshleyEvans

Help needed with tables and relationships

AshleyEvans

Title

Help needed with tables and relationships

Hi Guys,

I am new to filemaker and am creating a database for my business. Our business involves selling cab glass for heavy machinery (jcb's etc)

Every manufacturer and model of machine has it's own record in the "Machine Models" table. Every machine has only one cab, but one cab can fit many machines. Each cab is made up of up to 10 pieces of glass (items). One piece of glass (item) can fit multiple cabs.

Before I go any further and import every item, could somebody tell me if this is an efficient way of organising the tables?

http://s205.photobucket.com/albums/bb47/alderevans2007/?action=view&current=Tables.jpg

Thank you very much!

• 1. Re: Help needed with tables and relationships
          aammondd

It sounds like you need to structure your data a bit differently you can do the basics of this with 4 tables

Lets look at it like  this

1 Each unique (by dimentsions and characteristics) Glass Inventory Item has an ID (One table of Glass Items with characteristic fields and a unique ID) Table has one record per Item

2 Each machine has its own id (One table with Machine MFG. Info and ID) Table has one record per Machine

3 Each machine has a number of Cab Postitions (One table with the MachineID and a number of Cab Positions) Table has one record per Machine/Position Combination

4 Each Position may have one or more glass items that fit it (tint nontint etc quality etc) with MFG ID Position ID and Glass ID that fits Table has one record for each MFG/Position/GlassID that fits. (if there is only one glass item that fits the position then you can dispense with this table and add the item ID fields to the positions table but I suspect you might have 2-3 product types that fit  the same space)