5 Replies Latest reply on Jun 11, 2010 8:44 PM by FentonJones

Help please! Adding an import photo button to a database

Fuzzy

Title

Help please! Adding an import photo button to a database

Hi, I am a newbie at File maker and am having trouble creating a button on my database that will browse the photo's on my computer and allow me to import a picture for each record. I am using FM10 on a mac. Can anyone give me some pointers?

Cheers

• 1. Re: Help please! Adding an import photo button to a database
          Mystick

take a look at Troi File plug-in.

it helps with interracting with physical files.

With it you could retrieve a list of physical files on your computer and then loop through it to upload the images inside records.

• 2. Re: Help please! Adding an import photo button to a database
            FentonJones

You don't need Troi File (which is great) on a Mac to deal with external files, unless you want a cross-platform script. Macs have AppleScript, which can also run Unix command line, which can search using either plain Unix find or mdfind (metadata find, which is what Spotlight uses). It's a little geeky, but fast. AppleScript can be run (very well) from FileMaker, using the Perform AppleScript step (in this case the "native" option).

The following AppleScript will find all the files in your Documents folder, to a depth of 10 subfolders, which have either ".jpg" or ".tif" as the file extension. You can add more. [Read later post; the mdfind command is easier to use and less problematic.]

do shell script "find ~/Documents -type f -maxdepth 10 -iname '*.jpg' -or -iname '*.tif'"

The result is a return separated list, which you can set into a FileMaker field, then go thru, add on what you need for a FileMaker syntax path, and Insert into a container field. Or just show the file via a calculation path.

For example:

/Users/fej/Documents/Landscape II/Plants/agave_attenuata_opt.jpg

would be: