5 Replies Latest reply on May 17, 2013 9:42 PM by philmodjunk

Help populating purchase form line items

RebeccaWilson

Title

Help populating purchase form line items

Okay, thanks in advance for the help!

Here's what I'm working with and trying to wrap my head around. First off, I have quite a few years of database design experience but am a Filemaker newbie. We have a company that I am trying to streamline our data entry system using FileMaker Pro 12. The way it works is somewhat like this: We have Clients who will carry only certain items we sell. They might order items every week, but we only bill them once a month. Those "purchase orders" we call "Service Forms". So a CUSTOMER may have many SERVICE FORMS, and an INVOICE may be based on the info in many SERVICE FORMS.

Where I'm confused:

1. How do I go about displaying in a layout ONLY the items each customer can order, with the information? I have a join table for Customer Products, it's just that the logic of this is eluding me. Please see the attached ERD sample for my tables and relationships.

2. Also, will I need more than one instance of a particular table? If someone sees a better way to structure this, I'm open to suggestions!

Thanks everyone for any suggestions you might have to get this working!

Sample_ERD2.jpg

• 1. Re: Help populating purchase form line items
          philmodjunk

how do you want that display to look?

You could display them in a portal on a Customers layout.

You can perform a find on CustomerPRoducts, specifying the customer ID in your find criteria and list them on that layout in a list or table view.

A conditonal value list can list all the products for that customer in a drop down list or other value list based field format.

• 2. Re: Help populating purchase form line items
            RebeccaWilson

Hi Phil,