4 Replies Latest reply on Jun 15, 2010 12:09 PM by wigz

Help request - summarising data in grid format

wigz

Title

Help request - summarising data in grid format

Hi,

I am a keen self-taught amateur database developer but can't always find the easy way to solve problems - PhilModJunk described my last dilemma as a 'Gordian Knot', hopefully this one won't end up the same way!!  I have tried a Forum search but haven't found any threads that point me in the right direction.

I am trying to develop a database to track the flying hours and currency requirements for 12 pilots.  Each pilot needs to track approximately 30 Basic Training Requirements (aka BTRs) and each BTR is either valid for a set time (eg a pilot's instrument rating test is valid for 13 months) or the pilot needs to conduct a minimum number of a specific BTR in a rolling 6-month period.  At present the data is presented in an Excel spreadsheet and when a pilot conducts a BTR the existing date value is overwritten or running total updated manually and conditional formatting used to assess daily currencies and forecast upcoming training requirements.

I have developed a scripted layout which captures details from every sortie that each pilot flies and then creates an individual record for each BTR; the fields are:

RecordID (Primary key - autocreate serial number)

BTR Date (date that event was practiced)

BTR Code (unique identifier for the type of BTR flown - eg IRT for instrument rating test, SIM for flight simulator sortie)

BTR Pilot (name of pilot who the record relates to)

Each sortie record can generate any number of related BTR records.

What I am struggling with is how to collate and present the data in a useable format ideally a grid with one row for each pilot and columns containing maximums, sums, counts etc depending on the BTR currency requirements:

BTR1                  BTR2                       BTR3     ......................    BTR30