5 Replies Latest reply on Mar 26, 2014 1:37 PM by philmodjunk

Help With "OnLayoutEnter" Triggered Script

AdamQuintero

Title

Help With "OnLayoutEnter" Triggered Script

Greetings-

I am attempting to use a script that's triggered by "OnLayoutEnter" on a layout with a portal whose table is "MedicalRecord". I'm using a Find step to go to the correct "MedicalRecord", and Go To Portal Row(Select,First) to bring the first row into active state. The Find appears to work, but the first portal row just flashes the active state appearance and then inactive. I admit I'm new to Filemaker Pro, and I'm seeking some much needed guidance.

Here is the "OnLayoutEnter" script I have so far:

Freeze Window

Set Error Capture[On]

Perform Find[Restore]

If[ Get(LastError) > 0 ]

End IF

Set Error Capture[Off]

Go to Portal Row[Select;First]

Refresh Window[Flush Joined Cache Results]

Any suggestions are appreciated. Thank you.

• 1. Re: Help With "OnLayoutEnter" Triggered Script
          philmodjunk

I'm not sure that Perform find is really doing what you think that it does.

Perform find will not find records in the portal's table. It will find records in the layout's table. If your find specifies criteria in the portal's fields, you are finding all layout records that have at least one portal record matching that criteria.

If [ Get ( LastError ) > 0 ]
               End IF

does nothing in your script as there are no script steps between the If and End If steps.

And if you have more than one portal on your layout, you need to put the focus on the portal before executing Go to Portal row. That can be done by using the inspector to give the portal an object name and then go to object can precede the go to portal row step in your script.

But it appears that you only have one portal, so that's not an immediate issue.