1 2 Previous Next 26 Replies Latest reply on Jun 27, 2011 6:11 PM by FionaWilson

Help with Creating a History of Field Changes, Please!

Mingrl88

Title

Help with Creating a History of Field Changes, Please!

Hello All,

I am new to filemaker pro 11 and even newer to scripting but I am trying to learn. What I need to do now is find a way so that when a user changes a field in one table/layout, it triggers a script to copy and paste this record into a new table/layout. As I said, I think this is probably pretty straightforward I just don't really understand scripting, in fact I just had an epic fail yesterday after spending hours on this problem and in this forum, so I just decided I'd try to send out a call for help and see if anyone was out there.

Thanks!! Laughing

• 1. Re: Help with Creating a History of Field Changes, Please!
          RestaurantCharlie

So what you want is an audit trail so you could have the history of changes that occured for a given record for all of its field contents?

• 2. Re: Help with Creating a History of Field Changes, Please!
            Mingrl88

Yeb that's it! Do you know how to do that?

• 3. Re: Help with Creating a History of Field Changes, Please!
              shudder

Here's a way to do this...

You have Table1 with all of the fields you want to track in it.  You have to first create a mimic of that table (along with some new fields that will help you track info as changes are made to the records in Table1).

Inside Manage Database... Copy and paste that Table1 into a new table and call it Table2 (or you can create a secondary table manually and create all the fields you want to track by hand -- but, eventually we will be writing Set Fields using the two tables as source and target, so you want field names to match up between the two as much as you can, but this is up to you).