1 2 Previous Next 19 Replies Latest reply on Aug 20, 2012 10:07 AM by GuyStevens

Help with creating a skill performance Evaluation

RyanFields

Title

Help with creating a skill performance Evaluation

Hello Everyone. I have a feeling this may have been adressed already in this forum but I am unable to state my question in the search field correctly to get a viable answer. I am trying to decide if this product is right to bring to my bosses to purchase but need to know how to build an application first.

I am a Training instructor for the Aurora Fire department. In order to evaluate our candidates on specific skills, we currenly use a PDF Check sheet with criteria on a pass fail basis. There is room for comments along with required signature fields for both candidate and evaluator. 

What I want to do is take this PDF document and make it interactive on Filemaker so evaluators can simply have the Ipad on site to eval the candidate  Seems pretty simple to me but I am having issues making this a reality. Can you help out with a quick tutorial?

Thanks,

RYan 

Page-01.jpeg

• 1. Re: Help with creating a skill performance Evaluation
          schamblee

Yes, this can be done with filemaker.  There are several books on Amazon that will teach you about filemaker.   Filemaker also has very good training material avaliable here online.    Filemaker comes with starter solutions that you can review and learn from.  You might also want to look for a developer to design this app for you.  Compare price of filemaker, cost of training material, and time in learning filemaker to the price of having someone else design the app for you.  This should be a simple app to design.  

• 2. Re: Help with creating a skill performance Evaluation
            philmodjunk

You can also download the 30 day free trial of Filemaker PRo and get the FileMaker Go app for free--so you can try things out before you buy.