4 Replies Latest reply on Apr 17, 2009 1:02 PM by cmdunn1

Help With Data Structure

cmdunn1

Title

Help With Data Structure

I am fairly new to FM and need a little help setting up a data structure. I need to have put products into multiple categories. The place where I am stumped is the categories have to be broken down like this:

Product Line : Category : Subcategory

Products will then be assigned to the subcategory but the problem is each product could be in different subcategories in another product line. For example:

Brand A : Category 1 : Subcategory 1 : Product 1
      Brand B : Category 1 : Subcategory 1 : Product 1

OR

Brand A : Category 1 : Subcategory 1 : Product 1
      Brand A : Category 4 : Subcategory 3 : Product 1

Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated!

• 1. Re: Help With Data Structure
          FentonJones

Basically when you have many things to say about one thing (Product), it calls for another table, for these multiple "product attribute sets."* It would have (at least) 4 fields:

Brand

Category

Subcategory

Product_ID

It would be related to the Product table via Product_ID (which would be a unique auto-entered serial or UID ID in the Product table, just a plain field in the child/join table). Then you could have any combo of your attributes, with a record in the child table for every unique combo. These child records would be created using a portal in Products, with [x] Allow creation of related records turned on (likely [x] Delete related records also, on the CHILD side).

I say "child/join" because I think of the child table more as a "self-join". In many cases you would be looking "through" it back to the Products table itself. To do such things as show "all products of this category", or subcategory, etc..