3 Replies Latest reply on Sep 20, 2012 11:58 AM by philmodjunk

Help with disign suggestions

danphillips

Title

Help with disign suggestions

I have a table of employees that need to be scheduled for several training classes. 

What I would like is a list box that I can sort by several options, Last name, Group, etc....) I then would like the user to be able to select multiple employees then schedule them into a class.  After the first class scheduling, I would like the records to remain selected, allow the user to choose another class for the same employees tand scheduled them for that class.

Once scheduling for that group is complete, the user could click onto another person (s) and repeat.

Does anyone have a suggestion on how to accomplish this?

FYI - I am a beginner and this is a multi user system.

Thanks, Dan

• 1. Re: Help with disign suggestions
          philmodjunk

For starters, you need tables and relationships that support what you need to do. What you describe is a many to many relationship. An employee can be assigned to multiple classes and a class links to multiple employees. This requires a join table:

Employees-----<Registration>--------Classes

Employees::__pkEmployeeID = Registration::_fkEmployeeID
               Classes::__pkClassID = Registration::_fkClassID

If this notation is something you are unfamiliar with and you need help understanding it, see this thread: Common Forum Relationship and Field Notations Explained

With this setup, a portal to registration can be placed on the Employees layout and used to sign that employee up for classes. A portal to Registration placed on the classes layout can also be used to sign up different employees for that one class.