5 Replies Latest reply on Oct 4, 2012 9:46 AM by philmodjunk

Help with downloaded custom function

galeton

Title

Help with downloaded custom function

I found a custom function on Brian Dunnings website called title (text; leaveempty) that I am trying to implement in my program. I have never used custom functions before. Here is a copy of the function:

Let ( [

prefixList = "Mc";
           alwaysLower = "a¶an¶and¶aka¶at¶by¶for¶ie¶in¶is¶it¶nor¶of¶on¶or¶the¶to¶vs¶vs.¶w/¶with";
           alwaysUpper = "AC¶EMI¶RCA¶ABC¶INXS¶REM¶UB40¶UK¶USA¶OK¶USSR¶MTV¶NRG¶DJ¶MC¶H2O¶CD¶NY¶NYC¶ID¶EP¶TV";

prevText = LeaveEmpty;
           nextText = case(isempty(prevText) and Exact( Text, Upper(Text) ), lower(Text), Text);

prevChar = Right( prevText; 1);
           prevChar_preSpace = Right( Trim(prevText); 1);
           prevChar_isUpper = Exact( prevChar_preSpace; Upper(prevChar_preSpace));
           prevChar_isLower = Exact( prevChar_preSpace; Lower(prevChar_preSpace));

prevCaseType = Case(
              prevChar = " "; Case(prevChar_isUpper and prevChar_isLower; "symbol"; "space");
              PatternCount("0123456789"; prevChar); "number";
              prevChar = "'"; "apos";
              prevChar_isUpper and prevChar_isLower; "symbol";
              prevChar_isLower; "lower";
              prevChar_isUpper; "upper");

currWord = RightWords(prevText; 1) & Left(nextText; Position(nextText & " "; " "; 1; 1)-1);
           currChar = Left(nextText; 1);

/************************ PLEASE READ THE COMMENTS BELOW ***********************/
           /******** THEY MAY HELP YOU WITH TWEAKS THAT BETTER FIT YOUR SITUATION *********/

currCase = Case (
                 // First character of the title is always uppercase
              IsEmpty ( prevText ); "upper";
                 // Always capitalize the first letter after any symbol
                 //   except an apostrophe (which is handled separately), even if that symbol