7 Replies Latest reply on May 23, 2014 5:57 AM by philmodjunk

Help with field validationp

sunnysundaram

Title

Help with field validationp

Hi All,

I am a beginner and have created a database for my neonatal unit.

Has got 4 tables (Patient, Room, BedNo and Level of care)

Room - 3 in no - NICU, HDU and SCBU

Each room has got many beds and all beds are numbered. Same bed no in different rooms!

If I have to admit a patient in a room and that bed is already occupied, I would like to show an error message- "Bed occupied"

Tried creating by validating with unique no for the bed no -  failed as the different rooms have got same bed no. I can use the override option, but when I created a runtime application with that file, I was not able to get an override option.

Attached an example file - https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BzOsF3qiKJReVEg2VWNuZkRrUzg/edit?usp=sharing

Appreciate any help.

Sunny

S

• 1. Re: Help with field validationp
          philmodjunk

I had a child in NICU. He was there for a long time, but now he's approaching 6 feet, getting straight A's and is the guy I hand a jar to when I can't get it open. smiley

I have to say that the thought that a "beginner" is working on a database for neonatal intensive care is a bit scary. I'd hate to see a design flaw in the database affect the care provided in any way...

It would appear that you need to combine the Room number with the bed number as the combination of the two values should be unique. An auto-enter calculation can combine them: RoomNumber & " " & BedNumber and by using a text field with such an auto-enter calculation, you can then specify the unique values validation option for this text field.

• 2. Re: Help with field validationp
            sunnysundaram

Many thanks PhilModJunk.

Beginner for the "database" but not for the care of the babies!!

We already have a proper database in our unit - BadgerNet Platform.