8 Replies Latest reply on Sep 12, 2013 2:58 PM by philmodjunk

help with how to compile a field calculation

shae1725

Title

help with how to compile a field calculation

I was given this calculation to format a number field but as im a novice I dont know how to compile it in the calculation panel

help would be appreciated

TextFormatRemove ( Self )

Let(xyz = left(xyz;3) & "_" & middle(xyz;4;3) & "-" & middle(xyz;7;3))

• 1. Re: help with how to compile a field calculation
          philmodjunk

The syntax for that is incorrect as it depicts two different calculations with no operator to link them.

Perhaps the person helping you wanted you to use:

TextFormatRemove ( Self )

As the auto-enter calculation for a field named xyz. If so, you'll need to enter it in Field Options and also clear the "do not replace existing value..." check box.

Then perhaps the second line was suggested as a calculation for a separate field that takes the data from the field named xyz and inserts the underscore character into two specific locations.

• 2. Re: help with how to compile a field calculation
            shae1725

The calculation was  put "_" between every 3 numbers  ie (123123123 into 123_123_123)  or  (12312   into 123_12_  )  I dont think there will ever be more than 9 digits !

I need this format to add to an url to retrieve pictures! Mybe I should create another field and populate with the result instead of replacing?

any ideas - 

• 3. Re: help with how to compile a field calculation
              philmodjunk

That would appear to be what your suggested calculation was supposed to do though the let function as posted here, is incomplete. It isn't necessarily your only option. Your example only shows numeric digits. If that's the case, we can borrow a page from the trick many of us use to auto-format phone numbers:

Let ( T = Filter ( TextFormatRemove ( Self ) ; 9876543210 );