3 Replies Latest reply on Jul 8, 2012 8:32 AM by philmodjunk

Help with Lookup, Relationship setup and conditional formatting

CharlesLuong

Title

Help with Lookup, Relationship setup and conditional formatting

Hello, I'm new to FM and I'm stuck on a lookup problem.

I have two tables, Calendar and Daily Visits.

The Calendar layout has in 4 fields shown under each day. For example, let's say the first day of the month is a Sunday the 1st. It has the following fields: A1, B1, C1, D1. Monday the 2nd has A2, B2, C2, D2,Tuesday the 3rd has A3, B3, C3, D3....and so on for the remaining days of the month.

Daily Visits has records from four different types of nurses that visit a patient. Each nurse visit is a separate record.

The two tables are linked via an ID field.

What I'm trying to do is when a particular nurse visits a patient on a given day, the respective A,B,C,D box for that day is highlighed using conditional formating. So if Nurse A visited patient A on Mon, Wed, Fri, box A2, A4, A6 under the visited date would be highlighted.

What I have now works but only the first visit works. 

Thanks for your help!

• 1. Re: Help with Lookup, Relationship setup and conditional formatting
          philmodjunk

I strongly suggest that you redesign your calendar table. (And please note that a Table and a Layout may have exactly the same name, but they are not the same thing.)

I suggest that you have one record for each day rather than one record for each month. This will lead to a much more flexible design that will make it much easier to set this up as well as many other tasks you may need to do with this database.

Here's a very simple calendar demo file you may want to take a closer look at:  https://www.dropbox.com/s/e8d03xvwe8vtz85/Calendar.fp7

• 2. Re: Help with Lookup, Relationship setup and conditional formatting
            CharlesLuong

Many thanks Phil for your reply and suggestion.