3 Replies Latest reply on Dec 7, 2011 11:41 AM by philmodjunk

Help with multi user accounts

AaronRoss

Title

Help with multi user accounts

this is my first time with Filemaker and i am using v11. Ive gotten the hang of things but the only issue i am having is scripting account names with layouts. I have 50 account names  that need to be scripted upon opening the database to its  correct layout. How is this done? Please keep in mind that ive only been working with FM for like 3months so plz make talk dumb to me :) thnx

• 1. Re: Help with multi user accounts
          philmodjunk

Please give an example of what you need to see happen when a user logs on to your database and why. Then we can make a detailed response telling you how to do what you want. (Or we might suggest a better approach to get the same results Wink)

In general, a script can use Get ( AccountName ) to identify the account used by the user to access the database, but what happens next depends on what you need and what you have currently set up in your database.

• 2. Re: Help with multi user accounts
            AaronRoss

Well i figured out how to script accounts to layouts. Now i need help with a couple of things for this. The database i made is split up into three parts; Inside Sales,  Verifier,  Outside Sales, and Managers.

1. I have set up 50 possible accounts for inside sales to login to. Each account is scripted to go to a particular layout that equals the account name. The accounts names are permanent and can NOT be modified since they are attached to a navigation script. I want a way to create 50 user names that can be added, changed, or deleted by managers. The idea is that a manager can creates a user name  and assigns it to one of my 50 accounts. The username wil then populate in every layout created in that particular account. If needed, the manager can change something or delete the user without ever deleting the account itself.