9 Replies Latest reply on Aug 26, 2009 9:18 PM by davidanders

Help with my first database!

KellanApple

Title

Help with my first database!

Hi there!

I have an issue that I need a bit of help with. This is my first time using FileMaker and I have one issue in particular. What I am trying to create is a general contact database for clients. The issue I am having is as follows:What I would like to do it be able to enter a sale which inbcludes what was purchased, the date, quantity, price, and method of payment and then be able to click a button and it saves and comes up with a new blank sales record for the same contact.I have been trying to figure out how to do this and I think its time to ask for a bit of help. I know it may seem a bit elementary but any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!

• 1. Re: Help with my first database!
          philmodjunk

Are you using an Invoice layout where the list of items purchased are listed in a portal? That's a frequent method for setting up invoices.

Do you want a new invoice or just a new item for the same invoice to appear when the button is clicked?

• 2. Re: Help with my first database!
            davidanders

You create a Client Database with required client information.

You need to include a unique client ID.

You create a Sales Database with required product information.

You need to include a client ID field in this database also.

You create a relationship between the Client Database client ID and the Sales Database client ID.

The Client Database contains only one record with a given client ID, the Sales Database can contain zero to many records with a matching Client ID number. 

David Anders 

• 3. Re: Help with my first database!
              KellanApple

Is there any way to do it without creating another database?

Can I get it to update a table with the information from 4 different fields?