1 2 Previous Next 25 Replies Latest reply on Sep 11, 2013 11:46 AM by LarsChristensen

Help with relationships and getting value based on two criteria

LarsChristensen

Title

Help with relationships and getting value based on two criteria

Hi,

I’m totally new to Filemaker Pro, and database generation in general for that matter, so please forgive if my question is stupid.

I’m trying to build a database for a small engineering company with the purpose of keeping a record of the following:

- Clients

- Operations

- Personnel

Each client has several plants at which the operations take place.

I’ve created a table and a layout for Clients, Operations and Personnel.

I’ve then given the Clients layout five tabs, one for general information, and four for individual plants.

The general information tab shows the total volume and total price of the all the operations performed on all of the plants of that specific client.

The individual plants tabs are to show brief information about the operations performed, which I’ve done through the use of a portal and the filter option to exclude wrong plants by using a plant ID field.
           It’s also supposed to show the total volume and price for operations performed on that specific plant, and this is what I cannot figure out how to do.

I've included a picture to help clarify what I need.

Thanks.

Screen_Shot.png

• 1. Re: Help with relationships and getting value based on two criteria
          philmodjunk

Don't you also have a table for each plant?

Do get a total of records shown in a filtered portal, define a summary field in the portal's table that computes the total of the Price field and then another for the total of the volume table.

Then enter layout mode and make a copy of your current table. (Copy it so that it has exactly the same portal filter and show related records from setting.)

Delete the fields from the table and change the number of rows settting to 1.