2 Replies Latest reply on Jun 5, 2014 9:23 AM by pastormarkfuss

Help with showing related record details

pastormarkfuss

Title

Help with showing related record details

I am quite new to FileMaker, having been using it for just over a month now. I have read quite a bit of documentation and watched a number of helpful videos in an attempt to learn more about the program. I am very much a novice at FileMaker and I have run into a bit of an issue and I hope that a more experience user can help me to resolve.

I am trying to do something that seems, in my mind at least, to be relatively simple. I want to design a layout that incorporates a portal on the left side of the layout and details about the selected or active portal row on the right side of the layout. The solution I am trying to build is for my church. The portal on the left side of the layout displays a list of church families by household. On the right hand side of the layout I want the details for the currently selected household to display [things such as address, telephone number, etc.]. I can get the portal to display without any problem. The trouble I am having is with the details display on the right hand side of the layout. The details that I want to display will show up only for the topmost household in the portal.

I have attached  a screenshot of what I have been able to come up with so far.

Does anyone have an easy solution for my dilema? Please bear in mind that I am both new to FileMaker and I am not a programmer/developer, so I'll need a simplified answer.

Thanks.

Snap92.png

• 1. Re: Help with showing related record details
          philmodjunk

I am both new to FileMaker and I am not a programmer/developer,

Well that's does not need to be a permanent condition. wink