11 Replies Latest reply on Jun 5, 2012 11:10 AM by philmodjunk

help with table

ChiehSuaiTan

Title

help with table

HI,

I am a newbie trying to create a database for my research work

I have created 2 table for this purpose

1. Table 1, which is my parent table, which contain all the basic information that I want to capture: e.g.

ID, Urine output, Drug level and 100 other different fields

2. Table 2, which is my calculation table, which contains all the calculations that I want to do with the basic information that is collected in table 1. eg

ID, Urine output, Urine output score, Drug level , Drug level score, overall score and 50 other scoring system.

how do I

1. Auto-populate table 2 with values from table 1 for similar fields? e.g, table 1 urine output will be automatically entered into table 2 urine output?

2. After I am done with the calculations in table 2, how to I get the results back in table 1?

If it is too tedious, maybe I should combine the 2 table together as one. If so, how to I do it? I don't want to retype all the calculation/formula from table 2 into table 1

Thanks!

• 1. Re: help with table
          philmodjunk

and 100 other different fields

You might need a table of 100+ records instead of 100+ fields. I cannot tell you that with confidence as I have only a limited understanding of what you want to do here.

The main qustion here is how will a record or records in one table match to a record or records in the other?

There are two basic methods for what you describe and each has advantages/disadvantages. Both require a relationship linking the two tables:

See this thread to learn the details: Auto Fill

• 2. Re: help with table
            ChiehSuaiTan
            Thank you I meant I have created 2 database table to record data. Each records will have 100 fields to be fill up and 50 calculation fills. Hence I have spilt them into 2. Can I auto update database table 2 when I enter into records into database table 1?