10 Replies Latest reply on Jan 2, 2010 10:46 AM by Pichi

help with the auto serial number

Pichi

Title

help with the auto serial number

Hello i´m new on this forum, and I need somebody help!

This is my problem i´m made my own invoice program, and i have my master layout, this one have a auto enter serial number, but also i have 3 more layout on each one i need to put a auto serial number but must be different front eht master layout, I mean I use a new record and in the master layout put all the info from my client (here i have the master serial) and i need in case to need a invoice send the data to the invoice layout and i need the master serial number, plus the serial number (should be different from the master)for the invoice...

someone can help me?

• 1. Re: help with the auto serial number
          ninja

Howdy Pichi,

Could you describe your table architecture a little bit?  You mention layouts but you don't describe if they are on different tables or how such tables are related.

You can have multiple fields with autoentered serial numbers...it sounds like you currently have one Serial field but are asking how to make three more.  Simply create three more fields (each in the table holding the pertinent records, of course) and set these fields to also be autoenter serial#'s.

If you have multiples, I would think about making the serial fields text fields and putting a prefix before the number:

Mstr000000001, Inv0000001

Note that any related table to the Master table would need the Master Serial for your join, and the Invoice serial too.

is this what you're after?

• 2. Re: help with the auto serial number
            Pichi

Hi Ninja Thanks for your help

let me try to describe: