8 Replies Latest reply on Apr 17, 2013 11:52 AM by philmodjunk

Help with Unique Record IDs and the Max Function

JeffBloxham

Title

Help with Unique Record IDs and the Max Function

Hello all,

I am being tasked with updating a piece of project management software running on a old filemaker version to the lates and greatest and incorporatin the new capabilities of the software.  I am really new to FM so I am learning as I go.  I have one common function in the old software that I am having issues recreating.

Our software uses many tables to track things and most have a relationship with a project number or a specific contact.  Our old software would assigne a unique ID to a record by using the "Project Number" + Text + "Sequencial Numbers".  An example would be if you had a table to track issues on a job, when you created a new issue you would enter the job number and it would cread a uniqe ID with the value "Project Number-Issue-(next number in sequence using the MAX command by job number)".  The programmin interface between the 2 versions of FM is so different now, I am having issues copying over this function.

Any help or ideas?

• 1. Re: Help with Unique Record IDs and the Max Function
          philmodjunk

Not sure exactly which function you need to "copy over", but I strongly recommend that you take this opportunity to NOT use this method for linking records in relationships. Use a simple serial number field defined in your Projects table to link to a number field in related tables. This "calculated ID" can easily result in duplicate ID numbers--particularly in the case where you may have more than one person generating new records at the same time.

You can keep such calculations in place, they work exactly the same as they did in your older version, but don't use them as match fields in a relationship.

• 2. Re: Help with Unique Record IDs and the Max Function
            JeffBloxham