1 2 Previous Next 15 Replies Latest reply on Mar 11, 2010 10:30 AM by philmodjunk

Help with using multiple tables in mutiple tabs- please help!!

Miranda1980

Title

Help with using multiple tables in mutiple tabs- please help!!

Hi, I am completely new to this software, or any database software for that matter. So please excuse if what I'm asking for either doesn't make sense or is not very clear, I will try to give as much info as possible. I've read the help files til my head is spinning and can not figure out how to build the database I need. What I am doing is making a database where I want to have 7 tables that are arranged in 7 tabs and all viewable at once (meaning within the same layout I'm able to go from tab to tab and see each of my tables info within each tab). The reason I think I need to have them all in seperate tables is because they will all have the same fields but with completely different info in each table/tab. I'm tracking 7 different people- and tracking within each of them the same things (such as their details, their customers, etc.)This info within each tab is also in tabs, but I'm not sure that's relevant to my question.

I was able to figure out most of what I needed on the design aspects and got it all perfect in one tab and table- I have all 7 tabs showing on that table but obviously when I go to copy the fields within tab1 to tab2 it is using the exact same info to fill in those fields, I'm assuming because it's from the same table- this has led me to believe I need a diffrerent table for each. I have created the tables now for each of the different people, and can see how I would need to design the layouts for each table, I see how to make the fields and all, however I can't seem to determine how I will be able to make all those tables/tabs show together. I tried to simply input fields from the new table 2 onto a tab from table 1 but it said it was 'unrelated' when I tried to then use it to input info.