1 Reply Latest reply on Mar 22, 2011 1:45 PM by philmodjunk

Help Writing a Script for Emailing

Esu7

Title

Help Writing a Script for Emailing

Hi,

I am really new to FileMaker, & I was wanting to create a database for Absence for my company.  Now one thing I would like to do is in the Name field have everyones name in there & they just have to find their name and click on it.  Now here comes the tricky stuff, as soon as the person picks their name the database automatically knows the supervisor to send it to.  Is there a way to write a script that when you click on the Email Button it will automatically put in the supervisor's email address. (NOTE: There are serveral different departments in the company I work, & each depart has their own supervisor.)

One more thing I would like to see if it is possible, & if yes how to do it.  In this same database I want to have a button that says Accept, & if it was Clicked it will automatically deduct, say sick time, from that person's available sick time allowed.  Then I would like it then to send an email back to the person asking for the time off.

• 1. Re: Help Writing a Script for Emailing
          philmodjunk

Ok, you are new to FileMaker, but how new are you to database design and/or programming/designing in other computer venues?

You can set up 2 or possibly three tables with relationships. Keeping it to two tables for now:

Employees>-----Departments     ( ---< means one to many )

Employee::DepartmentID = Departments::DepartmentID   (Departments::DepartmentID should be an auto-entered serial number)

You can define a supervisor email field in departments and your Send Mail dialog (You'd use this in a script) can then simply refer to Departments::SupervisorEmail for the To box in this part of the email set up.