3 Replies Latest reply on Nov 25, 2011 10:48 AM by philmodjunk

Help! I'm a beginner....

TanyaStaskiewicz

Title

Help! I'm a beginner....

Hey...I've recently downloaded filemaker pro and have come to the horrible realization that I have no idea how to create the database that I need lol

I have a small home business (an agency) and save all my data in excel...basically my data link to each of the documents that I deal with (in bold below)...it goes like this:

1. Item name
      2. Status = List: Pending quotation (PQT)/ Pending delivery (PIN)/ Cancelled/ Another supplier 
      3. Request for quotation (client A) = REQ#, date
      4. Quotation (client B) = QT#, date, price, means of transport (air/sea) delivery time
      5. Purchase Order (client A) = PO#, date, due date
      6. Order confirmation (client B) = OC#, date, ETA
      7. Delivery documents (client B) = IN#, date, date of arrival
      8. Payment = List: Y/ N
      The excel file is a simple list with the items above as column headings. 

I've successfully imported the excel file into filemaker (yay!) and have begun to play around with the different layouts etc. I know the find function pretty well because as I update the status as orders/deliveries comes in, I've updated the info that way.

I'm now at the stage of creating reports. For example:
      - I'd like to get a list of pending deliveries (i.e. only showing records that have the status "PIN"): In excel I'd do a filter for "PIN" in the Status column,  and then copy/paste the data into another spreadsheed to make it look like a report. I'm hoping FMP can do this?
      - I'd also like to monitor payments made up to certain dates and sum the values of the orders: In excel I'd just sort and highlight the "price" column, for records with Y in the "Payment" column.