9 Replies Latest reply on Dec 7, 2011 3:15 PM by mgores

HELP!!!! Somebody who knows what they are talking about

AaronRoss

Title

HELP!!!! Somebody who knows what they are talking about

Hey i am new to filemaker but i am picking up pretty quickly. I am good not great at writing scripts but i suck at making relationships between tables. i need help with a couple of things but plz know what you are talking about and talk dumb to me lol. The database i made is split up into four parts; Inside Sales,  Verifier,  Outside Sales, and Managers.

1. I have set up 50 possible accounts for inside sales to login to. Each account is scripted to go to a particular layout that equals the account name. The accounts names are permanent and can NOT be modified since they are attached to a navigation script. I want a way to create 50 user names that can be added, changed, or deleted by managers. The idea is that a manager can creates a user name  and assigns it to one of my 50 accounts. The username wil then populate in every layout created in that particular account. If needed, the manager can change something or delete the user without ever deleting the account itself.

ex: John Doe walks into the call center and says, "I want a job." the manager logins on his side, clicks [add user] and sets up John Doe. John Doe is then given by his manager a login and password. The login navigates to a layout that says, "welcome John Doe." in addition, every time he creates a new record, his name will automatically populate under a field named "repersentive." but then, one day John Doe tells himself he can't do it anymore and he quits. In walks Jan Doe and she says she wants a job. The manager simply logins under his account and clicks [delete user] some how he deletes John Doe and adds Jan Doe. Manager gives Jan Doe the same login and password and now her layout says, welcome Jan Doe. Keep in mind that this would have to support 50 users and web publishing.