4 Replies Latest reply on Jan 28, 2015 7:12 PM by openspace

Hiccup while Extending "Invoices" Starter Solution

openspace

Title

Hiccup while Extending "Invoices" Starter Solution

Hello, I'm new to filemaker and this forum, so please bear with me as I try to explain my issue.

I have taken the "invoices" starter solution and extended it to handle donations made by customers.

Donations Table: one person can make many donations, one donation can have many owners

Therefore, I have three tables:

Customers Table ----< CustomersDonations Table >----- Donations Table

To add a donation I've created a portal in the customer details layout that views the CustomersDonations Table. When you add a line to the portal, it creates a new donation in the Donations Table. This is working perfectly. My issue arose when I tried to calculate the fiscal year within the donations table for a donation made by a customer.

I noticed that:

When a customer created a donation and created an invoice=the fiscal year was correct
      When a customer created a donation, but did not create an invoice=the fiscal year was incorrect

I realize that the creator of this starter solution has triggered something to occur when an invoice is created, but I don't understand what I'm missing. I've also tried creating a field that calculates the fiscal year in the donation table. And again, when a customer has a donation and invoice the fiscal year appears and when the customer has a donation but no invoice the fiscal year fields are blank.

My question is, why are the fields in the donations table appearing blank or incorrect when a customer doesn't have an invoice?

Database: https://www.dropbox.com/s/3h8kgdkq8b0lv62/15%2001%2023%20db.fmp12.zip?dl=0

• 1. Re: Hiccup while Extending "Invoices" Starter Solution
          philmodjunk

Customers Table ----< CustomersDonations Table >----- Donations Table