5 Replies Latest reply on Jul 31, 2009 8:42 AM by gsainc

Hide fields

BLJ

Title

Hide fields

Hi,  I'm new to FMP (ver10) but have been using Access/foxpro/Dbase for (obviously) a while. 

Is there a way in FM to hide a field in a layout based on the selected value of another field.  ie if the value of the dropdown client list is "ABC", then the object named "ClientA_preference" in the same layout is made visible (to use the VBA term) otherwise it remains invisable

ta

BLJ

• 1. Re: Hide fields
          mrvodka
             Not as a direct option but you can use various other techniques. Do a simple search on here for the keyword "hide" and you should come across many posts regarding what you are looking for.
          • 2. Re: Hide fields
            BLJ

I'm not a novice to computers and forums, just FMP !

I had already done a searches in this forum and and the rest of the net on 'hide' (amonst a number of others),  and only went to the trouble to register and post a question in this forum because there was no answers or even work-arounds

Please don't feel you have to answer a post just to answer a post .. Isnull() is just as suitable a response ... if you know what that means

• 3. Re: Hide fields
              LaRetta_1

BLJ wrote:

Isnull() is just as suitable a response ... if you know what that means

Oh. What a beautiful attitude.  :smileymad:

• 4. Re: Hide fields
                mrvodka

BLJ wrote:

I'm not a novice to computers and forums, just FMP !

I had already done a searches in this forum and and the rest of the net on 'hide' (amonst a number of others),  and only went to the trouble to register and post a question in this forum because there was no answers or even work-arounds

Please don't feel you have to answer a post just to answer a post .. Isnull() is just as suitable a response ... if you know what that means

Well BLJ to respond to your previous posts here, lets break it down a bit shall we...

1. "I'm not a novice to computers"