1 2 Previous Next 16 Replies Latest reply on Nov 16, 2009 12:06 PM by philmodjunk

Hide Fields in Reports/ Conditional Field showing...

whiplash5000

Title

Hide Fields in Reports/ Conditional Field showing...

Hello-

I'm a newb when it comes to Filemaker and I'm having a difficult time with two aspects of a sub summary report that I have to make for work.  

Problem One- I have a long list of fields that have information in them- but some of the fields do not have data entered into the fields.  When this occurs, I want to hide the Label and the Field and have the information move up.  I set sliding/printing to 'sliding up based on All above and Also reduce the size of the enclosing part' but when I go to look at my report in preview mode, it doesn't move up, leaves the open field and keeps the label there. 

How do I remove the label and move the information up in this report?

Problem Two- I need to devise a script for the report that would allow information in the report to be added based on what tag I assign it.

For Example- if I add a film to my report that is in pre-production- I want it to only put the Start and Wrap of the film in the report.  If I add a film that is in post, I want it to display not the start and wrap but the Answer print and Release date.  

How would I accomplish this?

Thanks for the support!  

Justin 

• 1. Re: Hide Fields in Reports/ Conditional Field showing...
          whiplash5000
             Sorry I forgot to add that I am using Filemaker 9 and MAC OS 10.5.8. Thanks!
          • 2. Re: Hide Fields in Reports/ Conditional Field showing...
            philmodjunk

Fields will slide up when you print/preview the layout, but not in browse mode. In your situation, the field labels are not sliding as they are never "empty".

One solution is to redesign your layout into a tabular format where the field labels form a single row across the layout that doesn't need to slide.