4 Replies Latest reply on Feb 24, 2010 7:20 AM by mrvodka

hiding fields in Form view

celios

Title

hiding fields in Form view

Hi,

I am new to FileMaker and trying out various options.

I need to hide fields in Form view. At the moment I have one box in which codes are displayed and a control box in which a drop-down list allows to choose from a list of set options. 

e.g.:

Decoration - 1 - zig zag

Whereas I need to have  "1" displayed in table view, in order to facilitate entry of data in form view I would like to keep only the drop-down menu box (without the 1 appearing).

Can anybody help me in doing this? I am sure it is easy but just cannot find the way to do it right now.

thank you!

Celios

• 1. Re: hiding fields in Form view
          kvalley_1

I think the better way is this :

You creat a text objet on your layer with only spaces in like this "              " who will cover the field that you want to hide, then you make a conditionnal formatting with a formula like : if field1 = "" and you choose the same fill color of your background color, then normally, if you fill your field1 (by click on a case) you'll see your second field else it will be cover. try it

• 3. Re: hiding fields in Form view
            celios

Thank you very much for coming back to me.

It looks a little bit complicated, well at least since I have more or less 25 fields like the one I described.