1 2 Previous Next 16 Replies Latest reply on Aug 7, 2013 12:12 AM by Beowulf

hiding tab control with script

Beowulf

Title

hiding tab control with script

Hi,

I checked the forum but couldn't find this specific question. I'm using FM Pro 12.0v4 on Windows 7.

I guess there is a simple answer to it but I'm new to FM, so bear with me. :)

There is a little tutorial from seedcode on the web about this topic: http://www.seedcode.com/filemaker-12-layout-tricks-hiding-tabs/ and I could follow it until step 4. There I have the problem that when I do the second line of the script "Exit Script [Result: 0]" I get an error message "The specified table cannot be found". I don't know if this has anything to do with the comment at the end of step 4 "Don't forget that result = 0 in the exit script line". But then I don't get what he means by that since  "Result: 0" is written in the script.

Thanks for any help. :)

• 1. Re: hiding tab control with script
          philmodjunk

In the dialog, be sure to enter just the value 0. Do not enter "Result: 0". The "Result:" tag is supplied automatically by the script editor.

• 2. Re: hiding tab control with script
            Beowulf

Thanks for the quick answer PhilModJunk! smiley

I have now done all the 5 steps of the tutorial but unfortunately the content of the tab does not disappear in Browse mode. So, the Tab is invisible in Browse Mode but the field which is inside the Tab is visible (the"Dead field"), see picture. I checked the "OnTabSwitch" and "enable in: Browse". In the "Specify Script" Window I selected the script "DisableTabControl" and in the "Optional script parameter" field I wrote "Get (ScriptName)".

The tab is completely inside the field, because I read that can also be an issue. And I put the field inside the tab with the "field tool". But I guess that doesn't matter, I mean you could just drag an already existing field inside the tab, right?

Any ideas why it doesn't work?