8 Replies Latest reply on Oct 29, 2013 10:49 PM by MohammedAhmed

how can I use (if) with (sum) and (and)

MohammedAhmed

Title

how can I use (if) with (sum) and (and)

Hi guys,

Im new in Filemaker and I facing a difficulty to write a function.

I have two tables

the first table has 4 fields:

ID, price, statue, value

the second table has 2 fields:

ID, Result

there is a relationship between table1 and table2 in the ID fields (many to many)

I am trying to write a function in table2 in the (Result) field but I couldn't get the right result that I'm looking for ... it seems to me that the function (and) desn't work.... I don't know honestly.

This is my function, please correct me if I'm wrong:

If ( table1::statue = "b"  and  table1::price = 26 ;Sum(table1::value); 0)

Thank you for your help

Mohammed.

• 1. Re: how can I use (if) with (sum) and (and)
          philmodjunk

Here is a link to a thread that describes two methods that work for this: Sum_Calculation based on condition

If you are using FileMaker 12, there is another option: ExecuteSQL, that can selectively sum your related records.

• 2. Re: how can I use (if) with (sum) and (and)
            MohammedAhmed

Hi PhilModJunk

Thank you for your replay ...

as I read about ExecuteSQL the result must be text not numbers ...and I am trying to get a number result ...

The first method in the link works for me ...

Thank you for your help ...

• 3. Re: how can I use (if) with (sum) and (and)
              philmodjunk

ExecuteSQL can be used for this purpose even though the result is of type text.

• 4. Re: how can I use (if) with (sum) and (and)
                MohammedAhmed

Thank you for your replay ...

I read a lot ExecuteSQL and I couldn't get the function works.

Could you please help me to convert the function below to ExecuteSQL?

If ( table1::statue = "b"  and  table1::price = 26 ;Sum(table1::value); 0)

Thank you very much

Mohammed

• 5. Re: how can I use (if) with (sum) and (and)