4 Replies Latest reply on Jun 29, 2013 4:53 AM by GuyStevens

How do I add a field that contains a table as in Excel Table

SarahRedd

Title

How do I add a field that contains a table as in Excel Table

I am using File Maker Pro. I am wating to create a data input field that contains a table - a table as in a table created in Excel or creating a table such as

Date                     Time                     Amount

June 5                 5:00pm               $5.00

June 14              1:00pm                $10.00

I would also (if possible) like to be able to have at least one column have a total. I would so prefer to be able to create the table in Filemaker rather than link to tables in Excel etc. If that is not possible, then some plain english instructions to do that latter would be great.

I am a novice yet in Filemaker, and so a response using the planest language possible would be best to help me understand.

Thanks

Sarah

• 1. Re: How do I add a field that contains a table as in Excel Table
          philmodjunk

Well you wouldn't do that in FileMaker--as there is a much better way to set that up.

The key word in your post is "Table". What you do is go to manage | Database | tables and define a new table for storing this data where each column in your table example corresponds to a field defined in this new table. Then you link this new table to your existing table in a relationship. This may require you to define an auto-entered serial number field in your original table and update existing records with serial numbers (see Replace Field Contents in the Records menu) before you can set up that relationship to work.

THen you would add a portal to your layout to get what looks and functions like your "Table in a field".

• 2. Re: How do I add a field that contains a table as in Excel Table
            SarahRedd

I do not think that I made myself very clear here.