12 Replies Latest reply on Jul 9, 2013 5:56 AM by PeterPitt

How do I filter records in a portal by text?

PeterPitt

Title

How do I filter records in a portal by text?

I've never used FileMaker before but I am trying to filter records in a portal (linked to another FileMaker DB) to only display those tagged with a particular word (text).

So far I've been able to display the records alphabetically in the portal but whenever I attempt to filter them my results are empty.  I think I need to use some form of calculation but I have never created one before and I'm stumped as to how to do it.

I've attached a screenshot of my layout below, I only want to display records with the word 'generic' or 'elec' in the Letter Code field (which are drop down list options in another database) and ignore all other records.  Can anyone offer me some advice, or better yet explain how to write the calculation (or the logic behind it) to only display the records I need?

Thanks

FileMaker_Record_Filter.jpg

• 1. Re: How do I filter records in a portal by text?
          philmodjunk

Either a portal filter or a modification to the relationship can enable your portal to limit the potal records to the desired sub set.

What portal filter expression did you try to use?

What is the relationship between your layout's table occurrence and the portal's table occurrence?

• 2. Re: How do I filter records in a portal by text?
            PeterPitt

I'd prefer not to change the relationship as it links to other databases and I don't have full administration rights.  If I can make the change in the portal that would be preferable.  If I were to change the relationship how would that potentially affect the results?

I've tried using an "IF" filter, my thinking behind it being "IF letter code="generic" OR "elec" then display results but I get stuck on defining the results.