10 Replies Latest reply on Dec 14, 2010 1:19 PM by JohnAnthony

How do I have a drop down that changes multiple fields

JohnAnthony

Title

How do I have a drop down that changes multiple fields

I am new to FM so I will be asking lots of questions here, but I am a very quick learner.

Here is Job #1

I am managing court files, and will be using the same courts many times and dont want to have to enter in each court name and address every time.  I can obviously use drop downs for this for each line (Court Name, Address, City, State, Zip, etc...)  and I am sure this will involved some of that, but how do I make a drop down on just say the court name, and then have the address, city, state, etc fill in form just selecting the one box).  I have created a separate table for the court names already, if this is what is needed

• 1. Re: How do I have a drop down that changes multiple fields
          bumper

This is similar to entering a customer's name and address on an invoice. You need a table with the court name and address and an serial ID for that record. You would then relate the ID field to your court record so that when you selected that drop down ID the name and address data would either appear as a related field or you could duplicate the fields in the court record and have them permanently entered via a lookup. The choice depends on if you need the name and address data to be "forever" or if you want it to change over time if the court gets a new address, etc.

If you are using FM 11 take a look at the Invoices Starter Solution.

• 2. Re: How do I have a drop down that changes multiple fields
            JohnAnthony

Invoices relations seem way too much for what I need