5 Replies Latest reply on Jun 2, 2015 3:04 AM by MorkAfur

How do I install ODBC Driver for FM 14

JoeVillari

Title

How do I install ODBC Driver for FM 14

I'm new to FileMaker. I usually use MySQL but this client's project will require FM. I downloaded the 30 day trial of FM 14 (fmp_trial_fm_14.0.1.175.dmg) and the xDBC drivers (FM14.0v1_xDBC_14.0.10.dmg) for Mac OSX. I am running Mavericks 10.9.5 on my machine. Every thing installed fine.

According to the xDBC user guide( fm14_odbc_jdbc_guide.pdf) on page 16 it states that I should now have an ODBC Manager app in my Utilities folder. There is none.

This seems pretty straight forward. I am missing something obvious?

Thanks Joe

• 1. Re: How do I install ODBC Driver for FM 14
          MorkAfur

I don't have the install "disks" handy, and it's been quite a while, but isn't there a special JDBC installation folder in the installation disks (or DMG) for the JDBC install itself?

I use the JDBC connection from a Java IDE all the time to FM. Works fine.

Check this out: https://fmhelp.filemaker.com/docs/13/en/fm13_odbc_jdbc_guide.pdf

- m

• 2. Re: How do I install ODBC Driver for FM 14
            JoeVillari

Thanks for the response.

I have the install disks and the guide. The problem is the ODBC Manager app referred to in the guide is no where to be found after the ODBC driver install.

• 3. Re: How do I install ODBC Driver for FM 14
              MorkAfur

On your Mac, do you see the path:  /Library/ODBC/FileMaker ODBC.bundle

If not, then it's not installed.

(note: Although the path above should make it clear, this is the Library under the root directory, NOT the Library folder under your user folder (~))

If you do see the package FileMaker ODBC.bundle, then you could try to download and install the "ODBC Manager" program. I got mine from "Actual", a company that makes ODBC drivers for FileMaker.

See the screenshot below.

- m

• 4. Re: How do I install ODBC Driver for FM 14
                JoeVillari