14 Replies Latest reply on Jul 1, 2013 10:51 AM by AnthonySenerchia

How do I make an array in Filemaker Pro 11

carolyn

Title

How do I make an array in Filemaker Pro 11

I'm new to Filemaker Pro 11 scripting.  I have been scripting AppleScript for a number of years. I was hoping someone could tell me how to create a list variable (array) using Filemaker Pro's scripting lanuage.  Or if someone could please point me to where I could get more information.

Thanks for any help.

• 1. Re: How do I make an array in Filemaker Pro 11
          philmodjunk

You have more than one option here depending on what you want to do.

1. You could use a repeating field--though this is rarely the best option.
          2. You can use a table of related records--good choice if you need to store your list of data for future use
          3. You can use a value list in either a variable or a field. This is a list of values separated by returns and GetValue ( Listfieldorvariable ; itemnumber) can be used to refer to a specific item in the list.
          4. You can use a repeating variable such as $Avariable, Set Variable enables you to specify a specific repetition and you can use $AVariable[2] in an expression to refer to the second repetition much like you would with array notation in many computer languages.
          • 2. Re: How do I make an array in Filemaker Pro 11
            carolyn

Thanks so much.  Sorry I haven't thanked you sooner.  I got a bit sidetracked.  I think options 3 and 4 would most suit my needs.  I haven't thought of using a related table for this purpose.  hum I'll have to give that more thought.

Thanks again Phil

• 3. Re: How do I make an array in Filemaker Pro 11
              carolyn

Hi PhilModjunk or anyone else who woudl like to help,