5 Replies Latest reply on Feb 19, 2010 8:43 AM by philmodjunk

How do I manage people and assign them to arbitrary numbers of "tasks"

greyt2

Title

How do I manage people and assign them to arbitrary numbers of "tasks"

Hi I am brand new to FM, and still in Trial-mode:smileyhappy:  I used Paradox way back. I need to keep track of people, name adresses, usual detail, but i also want to be able to link an individual to one or more tasks, so when looking at one persons record i can see which tasks this person is connected to.

As a side effect I would like to be able to add a possible new task, without leaving the actual persons "view".

If this is possible, there comes the question if its posible to maintain the connection-history to tasks, no longer on the list. (if you wonder, I have used MS outlook - contacts - categories. Here you may delete a category from the main list, but any event linked to this category will still show up on the individual contact). I you keep ALL the old categories you have to scroll way down (many years) to get to the present task, and this is not userfriendly.

any suggestions will be appreciated

GreyT

• 1. Re: How do I manage people and assign them to arbitrary numbers of "tasks"
          philmodjunk

Do you know how to work with Portals in Filemaker? That's a standard way in file maker that will allow you to work with many records (tasks) related to one parent record (your contact records). You can learn more about this tool in Filemaker Help.

Where you go from there depends in part on exactly what you mean by "task".

Are these unique records created and assigned to a person on a day to day basis?

Are they a list of standard tasks?

Can more than one person be assigned to the same task?

• 2. Re: How do I manage people and assign them to arbitrary numbers of "tasks"
            greyt2

Hi again