7 Replies Latest reply on May 27, 2014 10:06 AM by philmodjunk

How do I repeat field data in every new record ?

RomZareski

Title

How do I repeat field data in every new record ?

I'm new to FileMaker Pro and I've been searching for solutions to what I thought would be simple but cannot seem to find any, could someone please help ? Thanks

I created a file to keep track of Stock for our Sculptures and entered all the necessary fields. Most of these fields are text and have to be entered manually as they're mostly different, but one of these fields, EDITION, is a field that I would like to repeat in every new record. I want it to contain the same data in every record, 1 - 8, 2 - 8, all the way to AP IV / IV.  How do I do that ?

Also, When I select a particular field to enter data, the highlighted filed becomes black and I cannot see anymore what I am typing, is there a way to change the color of the highlighted field ? 

I included a photo example...

Thank you for the help

Skee

Screen_Shot_2014-05-22_at_8.54.53_AM.png

• 1. Re: How do I repeat field data in every new record ?
          philmodjunk

What version of FileMaker are you using? (Options for controlling how the field highlight works have changed in recent releases.)

From what I see, you appear to have set up either repeating fields with the repetitions arranged vertically, or a great many individual fields, arranged in rows and columns. Neither approach would appear to be the optimum design for your data, a related table of records shown in a portal would be more flexible in most cases. But which design option did you use in setting this up?

• 2. Re: How do I repeat field data in every new record ?
            RomZareski

Thanks for the reply PhilModJunk.