12 Replies Latest reply on Nov 12, 2009 10:11 AM by david_lalonde@d-cogit.ca

How Do I View Data from

JudgeSmails

Title

How Do I View Data from

I am a beginner FM user using FM 10.  I want to create a mirror database that links to an existing separate database that will allow the two to be linked so that any changes in one database will be reflected in the other.  I created a new database and imported the records from the existing database and then created a table occurrence to the existing database and then created a relationship between the two.  However, this still does not seem to accomplish my goal of linking two external databases together... 

As I mentioned above, I am very new to Filemaker and Database design.  Any input, thoughts, or direction would be greatly appreciated.

• 1. Re: How Do I View Data from
          david_lalonde@d-cogit.ca
             You normally want to avoid data duplication of the sort you are describing. What is the reason you want two identical tables?
          • 2. Re: How Do I View Data from
            philmodjunk

Do you want exactly one set of data to exist or copies in each separate file? Option 1 is easy. Option 2 can be quite difficult depending on how your data is structured and used.

Describe your reasons for setting up this type of system. That'll answer the above question and also may allow someone to suggest a completely different approach if applicable.

• 3. Re: How Do I View Data from
              JudgeSmails

Thanks for the quick responses.  I don't necessarily need to duplicate the data.  What I am trying to do is create multiple individual databases and then have one database that is tied to all of these separate databases to be able to view and enter data from while also having the reciprocal ability to enter data into one of the "siloed" databases and have this data reflected in the main databse.  I know this should be fairly straight forward but I can't seem to relate them and have them synch up.