5 Replies Latest reply on Dec 19, 2008 6:51 AM by gidgetgirl

How do i...create unique numbers in a specific format?

LightningAd

Title

How do i...create unique numbers in a specific format?

I'm completely new to database creation, and i'm trying to develop a system to help me in my job and learning as i go! (Fool i hear you cry).

Because i am trying to build a system to catalogue TV commercials, which are all identified with specific 15 digit alphanumeric codes, i need to figure out how to create these.

the code is in the format  XYZ/ABCD000/999    where XYZ is the agency id code, ABCD is the product identifier, 000 is a 3 digit number  and 999 equates to the duration of the ad so a 20 sec ad equals 020, a 40 sec = 040.

I need to be able to generate a new code for each ad, but as i have recently passed the 999 point on my clock numbers i need the system to be able to use digits 001-999 then start again, but to also compare the first 12 characters of the code to ensure that each one is unique.

Please can someone point me in the direction i should be headed with this one?

I know i have probably bitten off more than a newbie can safely chew, but heck...how else do you learn?

thanks in advance 

adam 

• 1. Re: How do i...create unique numbers in a specific format?
          elevatorgirl

ok, so you want to take three different numbers and make them one. First create four fields: agency id, product Id , duration.( all numeric, with ranges or value lists ) fourth(Catalogue id) is a calculation.

So it should look something like this:Catalogue id=agency id;product Id;duration.

then also check box unique value,under validation, the program will prompt an error message when you have entered one that is already in use. I am just not sure if you can use / I think it is an operator you may need a different symbol. Good luck

everyone was a newbie at some point!

and I am a big believer in jumpin in with both feet, it is so liberating. Go for it.