2 Replies Latest reply on Nov 25, 2009 12:39 PM by mark_d2x

How secure is Filemaker 10 on Snow leopard

orthojim

Title

How secure is Filemaker 10 on Snow leopard

Dear all,

I am a surgical consultant looking at possibly investing in filemaker 10 but I have a question regarding the security. I need a database programme (ideally as easy to use as Bento for what I need) but one that is significantly more secure. I would be using it to store patient records and confidential information on a laptop and would need a fully secured and encrypted database capable of storing image files, word documents and information. Can Filemaker do this?

Many Thanks

Jim 

• 1. Re: How secure is Filemaker 10 on Snow leopard
          TSGal

orthojim:

Thank you for your post.

One of the features of FileMaker Pro is assigning accounts and privileges.  You can set an account to access all data.  You can set other accounts to view only certain data, or just not create any other accounts so nobody can get into the file without a password.

For more information, look in the online user's guide for Accounts and Privileges.  Or, look on our online documentation - Chapter 6:

http://www.filemaker.com/downloads/pdf/fmp10_users_guide.pdf

Let me know if you need any clarification.

TSGal

FileMaker, Inc. 

• 2. Re: How secure is Filemaker 10 on Snow leopard
            mark_d2x

Hi Jim,

Another in the medical field finding the virtues of Filemaker!  I too am using a mac for clinical data.  Just a few belt and braces suggestions; firstly, ensure you are registered if needed by data protection laws in your country as an individual.

I would recommend encrypting your home folder  on our mac, System preferences/Security, then use a good alphanumeric password to log onto your mac.   That should ensure you are abiding by data protection Law for all your data (doc xls ppt etc).