3 Replies Latest reply on Oct 30, 2012 9:19 AM by philmodjunk

how to allow guest data entry into a single record via a template?

ProfessorCoates

Title

how to allow guest data entry into a single record via a template?

I'm new to Filemaker but we can see many applications of advantage to our research laboratory. One is to have international researchers complete a 2 page template (which I have set up in Filemaker 12 Pro - this will make a book, and looks great!) but I can't seem to find a way of giving them access to a blank template for them each to enter their own data in a record without write or edit access to all the other records.  I'm sure I must have missed something simple but all the help/ documentation seems to imply that the data is input by someone (even a Guest) with access to all the database.

(We have Filemaker Pro and server - I've only used Filemaker pro in the limited time so far).

• 1. Re: how to allow guest data entry into a single record via a template?
          Sorbsbuster

You can define, quite precisely, the access privileges users have in File - Manage  - Security.  Under the 'Privilege Sets' tab you can specify what records users can see.  One way would be to automatically record the Creator Name (a field that is good practice to add always) for each record, and then specify that users of the group can only have access to those records where the Creator Name = Get ( AccountName ).

• 2. Re: how to allow guest data entry into a single record via a template?
            ProfessorCoates